Silent no more!

Silence is a tactic of Satan. It keeps things hidden and under the rug. Silence makes us believe that if we don’t talk about things, they will eventually go away. It prevents the Light of Jesus from illuminating areas in our lives that should be brought under His redemptive power. Silence tends to cause us to run away from God instead of running to Him. Silence and deception keep us in a state of torment. Where there is silence – there is no freedom.

Having lived a homosexual life for years, I kept silent about my same-sex attractions. For most of my life I lied and denied it all. I finally “came out” when I was 44 years old! “Coming out” applies to many scenarios, not just announcing being gay. “Coming out” is necessary to start talking, to acknowledge who you are, to begin to accept reality, and to give you the opportunity to invite the Light!

There is so much brokenness in our world due to silence. God wants to heal us. When we are willing to let Him into those places and break the silence, redemption and healing will follow. That’s just who He is.

When I became a Christian, I accepted Jesus into my heart – I invited Him into my “house.” I welcomed Him in, and like a good hostess, I showed Him around. I gave Him the tour, explaining where everything was; the bathroom, the living room, the kitchen, and the guest room.

But when it came to my closets, I told Him not to go in there, as they were full of “stuff.” I also told Him that the door to the basement was locked. My basement had stuff in it I didn’t want Him to see (because that’s where I was hiding sin, shame, and guilt). I didn’t know it then, but that was a deadly tactic of Satan. The enemy knew that if I allowed Jesus into all of my house – all of me – he would have to flee. I stayed silent about my homosexual lifestyle. And by not allowing Jesus into those locked areas, I experienced a lot of destruction in my life.

If I had known enough to ask Him at the time why I was still struggling, I believe this is what He would have answered: “Yes, Wilna, you invited Me in, and I’m excited to be here. BUT…you didn’t give Me access to every room in your house.”

Talk about eye-opening! By not allowing Him into my basement and my closets, I was restricting Him to the level of “guest.” And being a guest didn’t allow Him full access to make any changes to my house, to my life.

Jesus wants to live in us permanently – as an owner. And that means giving Him access to every room in our house. In my case, inviting Jesus into the closets and basement of my heart was the key to starting the change that eventually led to my victory. I continue to pursue Him for more healing and restoration, which I know will be a lifelong process. He is not done with me yet!

Psalm 18:28 (AMP) declares, “For You cause my lamp to be lighted and to shine; the Lord my God illumines my darkness.” (AMP throughout)

John 1:5 informs us that the darkness doesn’t win in the end: “The Light shines on in the darkness, and the darkness did not understand it or overpower it or appropriate it or absorb it [and is unreceptive to it].”

Transformation and healing have been part of my story for the past 18 years. I have continued to seek after the best heart surgeon of all time – Jesus Himself, our Healer. Seeking after Him was foundational to my healing. Seeking after Him is foundational to ALL of us being healed!

In my experience, He has been so faithful. Not only have my same-sex attractions diminished completely, but God has given me the courage to break my silence and to speak out about what I once struggled with. He has called me to equip and educate the body of Christ on the very challenging topic of homosexuality!

Transformation is possible when we break the silence.

Transformation is possible when we break the silence – on any and all issues that keep us in bondage. And when we allow the light of Jesus into our closets and basements. My fervent prayer is that whatever you struggle with, you “come out” and stay silent no more!


*This article was featured in the October 2017 edition of the Elijah House newsletter.
