I have a dream…

I have a dream! In fact, I have more than one!

If you remember, Martin Luther King Jr. had a dream too. But the sad thing is – his dream cost him his life! Yet his dream didn’t die with him. Many others shared his dream. They took it and ran with it, and in the process, his dream came true! But it was not accomplished without a lot of hardship and pain.

God can place dreams and visions into our hearts. I see it as a sovereign design and call, undeterred by the cost!

Here are my dreams…

I dream of the day when EVERY Bible-believing Church will be educated, equipped and enlightened on the topic of homosexuality! When they will not cringe in fear of the day when “gay shows up” in their church! When Pastors will grasp every opportunity to rebuild broken bridges between the Church and members of the LGBTQ community.

I dream of the day when church members will realize that every member of the LGBTQ community is  worthy of God’s love – and that our example as true followers of Christ needs to stir in them the desire for a deep and intimate relationship with Jesus!

I dream of the day when gay couples (or for that matter, any person who identifies as a member of the LGBTQ community), will walk into our churches and not be rejected. That we will not turn our heads, but we will turn our eyes inward and look at our own hearts. I dream of the day  when church members won’t judge, but will show grace and unconditional agape love – yet stand courageously and uncompromisingly for Biblical truths and values.

I dream of the day family and friends who have gay loved ones will grasp every opportunity to walk alongside their loved ones! When they don’t judge, but show love and compassion. When they have a listening ear, trying to understand what it means to journey with same-sex attractions, yet courageously stand for Biblical truths and values.  (And just so you know, I do not minimize the reality of the pain and disappointments that are part of this process!)

I dream of seeing our young generation turning back to Biblical values and truths (and I know many of them already are!) I dream of the day they pursue purity rather than fleshly pleasures. Our youth are bombarded with lies that have become “truths” for them. Sexual immorality as approved and practiced by the world around them, and by many church going “Christians,” only strengthen them in believing these lies! I dream of the day our youth stand up, saying “Yes” to Jesus – choosing the highest moral ground!

As I already mentioned, dreams and visions are put into our hearts by God. He uniquely tailors a sovereign design and call for each of our lives. The ministry I am involved in can certainly be classified this way. In saying this, my aim is not to put myself on a pedestal! I honestly never desired to become involved in anything like this. In fact, I used to be terrified just thinking of telling my story (as a former lesbian).  But God… He had a plan! And I said  “Yes!” when He called me! From this, I have written a song from my heart, called “Here I am!” (Just so you know, I am no singer, nor a songwriter!)  One of the phrases goes like this: “Lord, here I am! Until my calling is fulfilled, until my calling is fulfilled… Lord, here I am!”

I am not asking for your sympathy. I am asking you to share these dreams, and be a part of bringing them to fruition. It actually is something Jesus is asking all of us to do. It is part of the GREAT COMMISSION! If you and I are born-again believers, it means Jesus already reconciled our hearts back to our Heavenly Father. Thank you, Jesus! Then He commissions us to go and do likewise:


He gives you and I the ministry of reconciliation; that by word and deed we might aim to bring others into harmony with Him!

(2 Corinthians 5:18, in my own words)


All of us can build bridges and be part of the reconciliation process! And we need not worry – God will give us the strength when we make ourselves available, when we say “YES!” When we say, “Lord, here I am! Until my calling is fulfilled! Lord, here I am!”

Perhaps you would say, “Wilna, your dreams are impossible.” I say, “No, I believe they are!” When we do what we need to do, God will do what we cannot do. In closing, may I bring His Words to your memory:

“Is anything too hard or too wonderful for the Lord?”

(Genesis 18:14 AMPC)


“What is impossible with men is possible with God!”

(Luke 18:27 AMPC)

I have dreams… and I know the fulfillment of them will bring beautiful results! Reconciled hearts to God, Himself!

Is anything too hard or too wonderful for the Lord? Genesis 18:14

